Reedy Outdoor Race of Champs- Day 3, Main Day

 

Well, after an exhausting weekend I finally made it to the final day of racing, main day.  it would all come down to this, the mains.  I survived qualifying, just barely, but would start last in every class.  I understand now why some people opt to go stock, they simply are off pace in mod.  I’m on average 3 seconds off a LAP in mod, so I’m the back marker.  I may consider going stock next year, but if I do that more work of taking more motor out, etc., something I have to consider with running multiple classes.

Today would be a 4 hour main day.  Expecting rain the plan was to start all the racing at 9am, with a few hours of practice and be out by lunch.  As soon as I put my equipment on the pit table, rain hits.  sprinkling, but still raining.  rain delay..This would push everything back an hour of so before we could start.

once it dried a bit I got my pit table setup and began looking at my RC10’s; and contemplating swaping over the entire electronics and rebuilding my transmission in the 45 minutes we had before the start of the first race.  because of the schedule I would have to turn marshall the first race, race my B-main mod buggy, then marshall again, so time was going to be tight.  after talking with the other RC10 drivers at the race they agreed and I decided to hastly swap everything over to my quickly built RC10 rear motor.  I’ve never rushed a build so fast in my life, but with 2 minutes of practice left I put it down on the track and got a 2 lap feel of the car.  it was the right decision.  I’d marshall then race.  the car was better then it had felt all weekend.  I drove it better than I did all weekend.  Still, I was a back marker, just not taking the right lines, lack of practice, any many other things that would take seconds off my laps times to remain on the lead lap.  after a 10 minute main I’d finish 5 laps behind the pack, with 25 laps.  yet I was still proud of how the car drove, and how I drove.  I crashed twice during the whole race, one was almost a race ender with a ball cup popping off my steering once again.  luckily a cool german fellow I had been talking to and racing with over the weekend was an old school racer (with a cool RC10 B2 T2 hat), took a moment to pop my ball cup back on after missing the double jump, and I was able to finish the race, it was great.

The RC10T I would be able to do double-A main. The car was making a bearing noise when turning right.  I had replaced broken bearings on both sides of the rear hubs , but was still there.  motor was good, BUT I would break another rear hub carrier screw head.  I’m really not liking the stock associated phillip screw heads.  time for a stainless steel screw kit for the car, I’m tiring of DNF’s because of this.

I would replace both rear a-arm carriers and all bolts for A2, and took a little more caution around the track, hurting my lap times.  my goal was to finish, and I did, at the back of the pack.  live and learn.

I’d pack up, hang around and thank a few people at the end of the awards ceremony and make the trip back to Yuma Arizona that night.  good fun, exhausting weekend.  We’ll see about next year.  This is really the only event you can race rear-motor at anymore, so I think it’s awesome they do this and want to see them to this in the future.  I hope to see more people come out to take advantage of this cool event.

wp_20161120_09_25_43_prowp_20161120_08_46_30_prowp_20161120_08_46_47_prowp_20161120_08_46_53_prowp_20161120_08_47_18_prowp_20161120_08_47_27_prowp_20161120_09_14_54_prowp_20161120_09_56_17_prowp_20161120_10_56_26_prowp_20161120_11_43_01_prowp_20161120_12_22_43_prowp_20161120_13_35_17_prowp_20161120_14_16_22_prowp_20161120_14_16_43_pro

open-truck-a1

open-truck-a2

2wd-mod-buggy-b-main

Leave a comment