Practice at Hobby Action

 

With the revolving door of RC Tracks in the Phoenix area, I was very curious to check out the new Hobby Action Track in Chandler this weekend.  It was a family trip, but knew I could make an excuse to swing by.  So, I somehow packed all the necessary gear I’d need and (2) AE buggies for the pilgrimage.

So, after some required appointments, I motived the wife to swing by the track.  I bribe her that it’s a mall and food and stuff.  First off this is the first indoor RC Track I’ve been to in a while that isn’t in between strip clubs or old industrial areas.  Very nice location.  we drop the wife at Bed bath and beyond across the street and then do some practice.

We get inside to see a nicely stocked store with glass windows separating the store from the track, very cool.  A very nice 4 screen display of the current track racers, and nicely done pit tables.  the work they put into the facility shows.

with my tight fitting cars in the bag it takes my 20 minutes just to get my son’s car out and ready to go with sauced tires.  it’s a Friday, and small crowd, great for practice.  I hit the track a few minutes later.  I love the track layout, it’s easy enough to get around.  I’d heard the track surface was abrasive.  It’s not crazy abrasive like sugared tracks, but it’s not as forgiving as a pure wet clay track.  on the this squared track layout, i’d expect to go through a set of tires after 8 -10 runs in a mod 2WD buggy.  it was a fun layout, a huge driver’s stand, people were nice.  I could see my son struggling with his B5m and the gear diff as he’s been spoiled by racing carpet over the summer, but he genuinely enjoys rc car racing.  We then after a battery quickly packed it all up and picked up the wife to continue the weekend.

Day 2 in Phoenix and I motivate my best bud to come by the track after an outing downtown.  He’s got a toddler, and was into racing, but as much as he liked the track, I could tell he’d grown out of the sport.  No longer was he interested in the racing side of it, instead focusing on other adult stuff.  not even picking up (2) SC28’s and racing them around the house would be enough to get him back into it….time to give up on that dream of us all eventually racing again. This is where certain interests and people separate…

RANT= WHAT THE f#%^%#!! IS UP WITH PEOPLE NOT LIKING OR PUTTING DOWN THIS GREAT HOBBY?  Is your unhealthy love affair with watching other people play sports better that actually racing?  shopping in the mall, talking about the weather, politics, or all bulls$^t adult stuff that grown-up people feel obligated into doing.  You could argue that radio control racing is no more important than anything else a human choosing to do on this blue planet, so don’t dare call my hobby childish when most of the stupid forms of entertainment in the world require less intelligence.  F$&k your  steaming hulu/amazon prime/pokemon go/facebooking/golf, or anything else that isn’t racing.  They’re all more childish than racing.=END OF RANT

Yes, the facility is great.  the lighting reminds of Warehouse 3, the benches remind me of SRS, the hobby shop appears to be well stocked on NEW stuff (oh hobby, so hard sometimes’s getting a store to stock LAST YEARS’ car parts 😦  ). I’m already thinking of future event I can go to at this facility in 2018.Time will tell how long this location stays open.  I hope it’s here to stay.

 

Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

Leave a comment